Alfred Vaino Aho

Turing Award 2020

Ao was born August 9, 1941, in Ontorio, Cannada.

1963 Bachelor of Engineering Physics from the University of Toronto

1965 Graduated Master's Degree

1967 holds a doctorate in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from Princeton University

By that of Eho's thesis, he pioneered the creation of Indexed grammar and nested-stack automation.

After graduating, he took a research job at Bell Labs, where he participated in the UNIX development team. Eho contributed to the development of grep (egrep and fgrep) commands, which are Unix word search commands.

Specifically, the fgrep statement was called more than Aho-Corasick algorithm to honor Eho and Margaret Korasic (Margaret J. Corasick)

1974, together with John Hopcroft, wrote the Design and Analysis of Computer Algorithms.

1977 wrote Principles of Compiler Design. This book is called the Green Dragon Book, based on the cover of the book, a standard book for people studying programming.

The AWK language, which Aho co-developed with Peter Weinberger and Brian Kernighan, launched AWK as a script language for alphabetic data management.

In 1995, he received a lecturer position (Lawrence Gussman Professor) and taught books at the Faculty of Computer Science, Columbia University (University of Columbia).

1997 was vice-president in Bell Lab's Computer Research Center.

2003 won the Great Teacher Award

Received John von Neumann Medal

2021 March 31, won the Turing Award (2020)


Compiling (Theory of Parsing, Translation and Cpmpiling), 1972Design and Analysis of Computer Algorithms, 1974Principles of Compiler Design, 1977 (the green dragon book) Data Structures and Algorithms, 1983The AWK Programming Language, 1988Compilers: Principles, Techniques, and Tools, 1986 (the purple dragon book) Foundations of Computer Science, 1994